"For the average person the soul is that which the pedestrian zone is for a city. During the day business is booming, but after the shops have closed there are only a few scruffy looking guys lurching around." (Max Goldt in "Ae")


City Clerk Novak (Tel. +43 1 4000 92221) issued a permit (in the presence of a representative of Vienna's First District Council, a representative of Municipal Department 22 and the Pol. Dion. Pol. Koat. for the First District) to the Association for the Advancement of Selective Reception Research in View of Futurological Concerns for 1 Nov. 1998 (12 p.m. to 6 p.m.) permitting the erection of two tables/sun umbrellas/poster stands at the First District's place of assembly, Stock-im-Eisen-Platz by the fountain next to the Kärntnerstrasse metro entrance, for the purpose of acquiring souls.


Contract / Facsimile

Contract / Example (C. Töpfner)


Most respected ladies and gentlemen,

It was a glorious day for the consumers of Central Europe. The spirituo-capitalist stand was only open for six hours; nonetheless it was a significant success. Many passers-by in the centre of Vienna did in fact have enough time to enter into business dealings with us for ATS 50 ($ 3.50)

The majority of the passers-by addressed were grotesquely upset and scuttled away in childish panic ("I'll go and have a coffee first, okay?"). The so-called 'liberal students' also proved to be very obdurate, just like the "'Bad Religion'-t-shirt-pentagram-chain-punk-metal" faction. Often the personnel had to put up with insults ["Are you out of your tree?" – "Yeah, but you're healthy otherwise, aren't you?" – "Leave me alone!" – "I wouldn't think of it; I barely know you." – "So I fall over dead right here, no way!" ...] as well as repeated loud namings of female and male sexual organs and faecal matter. We were also forced to contend with indoctrinated protective mechanisms that seriously interfered with business and cost precious time. Shortly before the closing of the deal, faces become pale, and often contracts even had to be annulled. Several potential sellers were led into St. Stephen's Cathedral by a devout Christian woman for the purpose of inquiring with the clergy whether the Church would offer a better price. A young man who had just sold his soul bought it back again ten minutes after the contract had been signed, paying ATS 100 ($ 7.00). The aforementioned Christian also attempted to restrain various candidates from signing the contract, at times using physical force. She also harassed our customers, often following them for several blocks and in a number of cases tearing up signed contracts. They had to be reissued. Although summoned, the Vienna police did not see fit to intervene.
Despite the scarcity of serious offers, the team remained selective. Not all of the souls offered were actually bought. Using his divining rod, Harald "Homolka" List did a professional job of insuring quality. Many passers-by misused the free soul test without any intention of selling. Preventive measures will be taken immediately against such misuse.

A total of fifteen high-quality souls were purchased and registered. These souls will now be offered for sale to third parties with power of disposal. We understand the project – beyond all philosophical discourses and argumentation seeking to prove God's existence – in the classical sense of a market driven by supply and demand. The soul is a tradable commodity, a form of virtual capital.


Soul Information

Invoice Number / Name / Date of Birth / City



01   .   Christian Töpfner   .   1975   .   Vienna
02   .   Martin Hilpold   .   1973   .   I-39011 Lana
03   .   Volker Piringer   .   1976   .   Vienna
04   .   Valentin Hauser   .   1980   .   Vienna
05   .   Maximilian Kigl   .   1983   .   Vienna
06   .   Sabine Gomayer   .   1983   .   Vienna
07   .   Barbara Kaiser   .   1972   .   Vienna
08   .   Fahem Amir   .   1978   .   Vienna
09   .   Julia Zwölfer   .   1922   .   Baden
10   .   Willhelm Zaillthal   .   1921   .   Vienna
11   .   Kassian Troyer   .   1977   .   Vienna
12   .   Jörg Piringer   .   1974   .   Vienna
13   .   Michael Kostner   .   1971   .   Vienna
14   .   Lukas Szopa   .   1983   .   Vienna
15   .   Susanne Luschin   .   1966   .   Vienna


Please email to soul [at] monochrom [dot] at
Minimum bid is 20 EUR per soul:

Soul bids so far:

Jörg Piringer: EUR 130
Barbara Kaiser: EUR 139
Maximilian Kigl: EUR 84
Julia Zwölfer: EUR 750
Wilhelm Zaillthal: EUR 1050
Susanne Luschin: EUR 170
Christian Töpfner: EUR 150
Fahem Amir: EUR 130
Sabine Gomayer: EUR 42
Lukas Szopa: EUR 50

A project of group
(proud of its flat hierarchies and distributed decision making processes)

"Die Seele ist für einen Bürger das, was für eine Stadt die Fußgängerzone ist. Tagsüber boomt das Geschäft, aber nach Ladenschluß torkeln nur noch ein paar Zerzauste herum."
(Max Goldt, "Ae")


Sachbearbeiter Nowak / 01 4000 92221 / genehmigte (in Beisein eines Vertreters der Bezirksvorstehung für den 1. Bez., eines Vertreters der MA 22 sowie des Pol. Dion. Pol. Koat. f. d. 1. Bez.) dem Verein z. Förderung der selektiven Rezeptionsforschung im Sinne futurologischer Belange für den 1. Nov. 1998 (12 Uhr bis 18 Uhr) die Errichtung zweier Tische/Sonnenschirm/Plakatständer am Versammlungsort 1., Stock-im-Eisen-Platz beim Brunnen nächst dem Abgang Kärtner Strasse zur U-Bahn zwecks Erwerb von Fremdseelen.


Vertrag / Facsimile

Ausgestellter Beispielvertrag (C. Töpfner)


Sehr ge/ver/ehrte Damen und Herren.

Es war ein glorreicher Tag für das mitteleuropäische KonsumentInnentum. Das spirituokapitalistische Standl war zwar nur sieben Stunden geöffnet, aber dennoch ein bedeutender Erfolg. Die PassantInnen der Wiener Innenstadt/Stock-im-Eisen-Platz hatten lange genug Zeit für 50 Schilling mit uns in Geschäftsverhandlungen zu treten.

Dies gestaltete sich anfangs allerdings schwierig:

Die Mehrheit der angesprochenen PassantInnen ist grotesk verstört und schleicht sich in kindlicher Angst davon ("Ich trinke vorher noch einen Kaffee, ja?"). Auch die sogenannte ‘liberale StudentInnenschaft’ erweist sich als verstockt, genauso die "‘No Religion’-Leiberl-Pentagrammketterl-Punk-Metal" Fraktion. Mehrmals muß das Personal sich beschimpfen lassen. ["Ja habts ihr einen Schuß?" - "Ja aber sonst seids schon gesund, oder?" - "Lassen sie mich in Ruhe!" - "Ich denke gar nicht daran, ich kenne sie doch kaum." - "Da fall ich ja tot um hier, das geht nicht!" ... sowie wiederholte laute Nennung von weiblichen und männlichen Geschlechtsorganen und Fäkalien.] Wir müssen auch indoktrinierte Schutzmechanismen feststellen, die die Geschäftsbeziehungen empfindlich stören und Zeit kosten. Kurz vor Vertragsabschluß werden die Gesichter bleich und der Vertrag muß manchmal sogar annuliert werden. Einige AnbieterInnen werden von einer strenggläubigen Christin in den Stephansdom dirigiert, wo sie sich beim Pfarrer erkundigen sollen, ob die Kirche mehr Geld bieten will. Ein jugendlicher Seelenanbieter kauft zehn Minuten nach Vertragsabschluß seine eigene Seele zurück und bezahlt dafür 100 ats. Die bereits erwähnte Christin versucht verschiedene AnbieterInnen vom Abschluß des Verkaufsvertrags abzuhalten, auch tätlich. Unter anderem werden unsere KundenInnen behelligt, oft mehrere Häuserblocks verfolgt, etliche ausgefertigte Verträge werden von ihr zerrissen. Diese müssen erneut ausgestellt werden. Die alarmierte Wiener Polizei mischt sich aber grundsätzlich nicht ein.
Trotz des geringen Angebots bleibt das Team wählerisch. Es werden nicht alle angebotenen Seelen auch tatsächlich angekauft. Harald "Homolka" List fungiert mit Wünschelrute als professionelle Qualitätssicherung. Von vielen PassantInnen wird dies als Gratis-Seelentest ohne Verkaufsabsicht mißbraucht. Dem Mißbrauch wird schnell ein Riegel vorgeschoben.
(Anm.: Karl Merkatz  züngelt uns nur etwas eher Unverständlich-Frivoles zu.)

Insgesamt werden fünfzehn hochqualitative Seelen angekauft und registriert.
Diese Seelen werden nun zum Verkauf an Drittpersonen mit Verfügungsgewalt freigegeben. Wir verstehen das Projekt - abseits aller philosophischen Diskurse und Gottesbeweisführungen - im klassischen Sinne als durch Angebot und Nachfrage gesteuert. Die Seele ist ein Form von tradeable investment, sozusagen eine Form virtuellen Kapitals.


Seelendaten

Auktionsnummer / Name / Geburtsdatum / Wohnort zum Zeitpunkt des Verkaufs



01   .   Christian Töpfner   .   1975   .   Wien
02   .   Martin Hilpold   .   1973   .   I-39011 Lana
03   .   Volker Piringer   .   1976   .   Wien
04   .   Valentin Hauser   .   1980   .   Wien
05   .   Maximilian Kigl   .   1983   .   Wien
06   .   Sabine Gomayer   .   1983   .   Wien
07   .   Barbara Kaiser   .   1972   .   Wien
08   .   Fahem Amir   .   1978   .   Wien
09   .   Julia Zwölfer   .   1922   .   Baden
10   .   Willhelm Zaillthal   .   1921   .   Wien
11   .   Kassian Troyer   .   1977   .   Wien
12   .   Jörg Piringer   .   1974   .   Wien
13   .   Michael Kostner   .   1971   .   Wien
14   .   Lukas Szopa   .   1983   .   Wien
15   .   Susanne Luschin   .   1966   .   Wien



 

Bei Ankaufswunsch notieren Sie sich bitte die jeweilige Auktionsnummer, schicken Sie uns ihr Angebot an seele [ät] monochrom [punkt] at
Mindestgebot ats 20 EUR pro Stück.

Bis jetzt liegen Angebote vor für:

Jörg Piringer: EUR 130
Barbara Kaiser: EUR 139
Maximilian Kigl: EUR 84
Julia Zwölfer: EUR 750
Wilhelm Zaillthal: EUR 1050
Susanne Luschin: EUR 170
Christian Töpfner: EUR 150
Fahem Amir: EUR 130
Sabine Gomayer: EUR 42
Lukas Szopa: EUR 50

Ein Projekt der  Gruppe
(stolz auf flache Hierarchien und verteilte Entscheidungsstrukturen)